top of page

Learning to crochet and 1st project!

Believe it or not, I only learnt how to crochet about 6 months ago! I had put it off for years, why you might ask? well I learnt to sew and knit from my Nana; she never crocheted and as a child had said it would be too hard! For what ever reason this stuck with me; until 6 months ago.

'Stuff it' I thought, 'it can't be too hard, look at all of these amazing animals that other crocheters have made'. With that thought in mind I went and brought a hook. 3.50mm; didn't know a thing about crochet at the time; so was unaware about wool/yarn types with what sized hooks.

I pulled out my 2 needlecraft books (both presents from my Nana) and opened both of them up at the crochet pages. (titles of the books can be found at the end of this blog, as well as the link to the pattern of my first project)

I've had trouble following these kinds of books before, they tend to assume you know more then you actually do. so being as they both worded the instructions slightly differently, I was able to learn the 5 basic stitches.

Oh yeah; there are lots of different types of stitches, but only 5 basic ones, the rest of the stitches are variations of the 5 basic stitches.

I learnt in one evening, picking it up super quick. Showed my Dad the following day, as we (my partner and I) had invited my parents round for a Monday roast. I had 2 half balls of wool and 1/3 of another ball. So I used the DK of the lot (double knitting), and worked up a rectangle, 3-4 rows of each stitch. This was what I showed my Dad, an odd shaped purple rectangle with loose then nice and neat stitches. He was kind of impressed, but not as much as when I showed him my 1st project.

 

So, after practising my basic stitches, I hopped on google and looked for crochet toys. I came across 'http://www.amigurumitogo.com'. It was perfect, lots of easy and free patterns. Searched through and found 'Little Big foot Monkey'

He had beautifully clear instructions and links to a video tutorial (I have never used, so no idea how good it is) and other helpful tips.

He took me a good 5 days to make, and again as this was a practice piece, I used the wool I already owned. I didn't have any stuffing and didn't want to fork out a fiver for some if I didn't enjoy it. So I stuffed my monkey with old socks. Yes they were clean, but I went through our sock tub (no draw space, so our socks are in a tub), finding all the socks with holes in; and stuffed him with them. I was very pleased with the outcome. Although I did have to unravel my pratice of the basic stitches to reuse the wool, and I still an out which is why he has an odd coloured foot.

Once I had finished him; I was so over excited that I uploaded him to facebook and emailed him to my Nana. Dad and Nana couldn't believe how quick I had picked it up. Nana was so proud of me; and had told me that my great Nana Rita was a crocheter, a natural at it. She told me that Nana Rita would be so proud of me,

It's a real shame she passed when I was so young (can't remember how old but probably 4 or 5 years old). I would have loved to have made something with her, to get advice from her and such.

I have been informed that she made me shawl as a newborn; which my Mum shall be giving me soon. Super looking forward to looking at her work.

So yeah, the story of how I learnt to crochet. Sorry if I waffled.

 

Oh and before I forget the two needlework books I used.

'The practical companion to needlecraft skills and techniques' Lucinda Ganderton.

'Complete guide to needlework' Readers Digest.

The pattern for the monkey can be found here

http://www.amigurumitogo.com/2014/05/little-bigoot-monkey-free-amigurumi-pattern.html

Featured Posts
Categories
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page