top of page

Changing colours

This tutorial is about changing colours.It includes the different methods that I know, as well as what they look like in both joined and continuous rounds.

If your ever making one of my patterns which require changing colours, I always use the first method, switching colours on the last stitch.

Before I start. I must apologise for the low quality photos, I just wanted to get this guide written up, so that I can post my next pattern which involves colour changing. I am getting a new camera next week, and I shall take some more then and update this post with them. : )

There are 2 main ways; that I know of (there are probably many others, so if you don't see something included drop me a message, I'll look into it before adding it to this guide.).

  1. Switching colours on last stitch

  2. tying the 2 colours together,

Switching colours on last stitch

The 1st one and my preferred method is to switch colours on the last stitch.

This is where you start the last stitch (of your first colour) like normal, then when you get to the last ' yarn over', switch to your new colour and draw that colour through both loops.

If you were changing on a Hdc, you would 'yarn over' hook, insert it into the last stitch, draw a loop through. Then grab your other colour, 'yarn over' draw through stitch

See the pictures below.

You can tie the two tails together, or you can leave them and weave them in later or work them in as you go.

Switching colours on last stitch -continuous round

Switching colours on last stitch - Joining rounds

Due to the nature of crochet where the top loop of the previous stitch overlaps the next stitch, by switching colours on the last stitch. The top loop of the last stitch (that over-laps the new colour) matches the bottom of the next stitch. If you look at the pictures below, the left shows the switching colours on last stitch; the right show switching colours at the beginning of the round.

Tying the 2 colours together

This is exactly as the title says. Cut the yarn your working with, leaving a tail. Then tie the tail to the end of the new ball, and continue working.

I personally do not like this method, as it can take some practice as to which stitch the new colour may start.

Also the knot makes the joining stitch feel very clunky.

I hope you have found this guide helpful. I have spent a lot of time and effort making this tutorial and the rest of my blog. I am only at the beginning of my journey, and would like to keep sharing tutorials, tips and patterns for free for as long as possible.

This can only happen with your support.

So if you have found any of my post helpful, then please pin them on pintrest and share them with your friends. :)

many regards

Layla

Featured Posts
Categories
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page