top of page

Introduction

Hello!

I thought I take this first blog post to tell you a little about myself and website. What my plans and aims are; further more why I've decided to do this.

Please bare with me; as this is my first time at making a website and creating my own blog. There will be a few teething issues; and not all the information I want to share will be available right away. This is a work in progress; I hope to share with you my experiences as time goes on. However for now; there's so much work that needs to be done, so please do come back so that I can share my journey with you.

Well, before I bore you with information about myself; I want to share what this website is about.

The short answer is simply, crochet.

Here is a place where you can find out all about the art form. I want to learn and share the history behind it as well as teaching others how to crochet.

I shall have blogs dedicated to the history, tutorials of stitches and other useful information, last but not least my journey through it all.

 

Here's where I officially introduce myself. I'm Layla; a twenty-something woman who has a passion for crochet and would love to be able to call myself a proper artisan and earn my own living wage from my passion.

I do all of work sat of my skinny ass, on my sofa in the UK; turning a blind eye to housework piling up until I end up leaving the flat covered in wool ends. (don't worry, I'm not a complete slob my flat stay pretty tidy in all honesty.)

I think it's important to know the history behind things. A lot of early crochet wasn't documented, so to the best of my knowledge; no one really knows how far back in time it goes. I want to find out and document as much of it as I possibility can. I want other people to know as much about it as they can. Basically I would hate the history to be lost. So if you happen to stumble across this site, and happen to still be reading; and can point me in the right direction then please do.

Teaching is important; learning is just as important. There's no point me sharing the history and my journey if I'm not going to teach those who what to learn. Which is why I'm providing tutorials with pictures. I'm also going to share other useful tips and tricks. For example, the different ways of writing each stitch, blocking and basic shapes.

Finally my journey. How I taught myself, my up's and down's. What my plans are, or what I'm working on. I'm doing this for me; because it's something I want to do. It doesn't matter too much if no one but me ever reads this.; because one day when I'm old I can look back at what I've done and achieved.

I just want everything in one place, Not over a multiple web pages. A way to document everything from my thoughts and feelings about my work, to the history of crochet.

Anyway; I hope you find this blog useful.

Layla

Featured Posts
Categories
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page